MyMEC

Forgot your username?

Forgot your password?

 x 

Cart empty

 

 

washington mortgage license

How to Get Your (MLO) Mortgage License in Washington

1. Apply for an NMLS account and ID number (if you haven’t yet).
You’ll first need to apply for an NMLS account and ID number in order to get your MLO license in Washington state. Head to the NMLS website and click the Login to NMLS button, then click to request an account. Choose an individual account and wait to see the confirmation message, which will display your username and ID.

 

2. Finish the NMLS Pre-License Education course (a 22-hour SAFE educational course).
After you have an NMLS account set up, you’ll need to take the 22-hour SAFE pre-licensure education course. This course includes 18 hours of online instruction and 4 hours of instruction on state law and rules.

 

3. Take and pass the NMLS Washington Mortgage license exam.
The next step in getting your NMLS license in Washington is to take and pass the licensing exam. The National Test Component exam includes 125 questions and will need to be completed in 190 minutes or less. Washington does not require the National Test Component with Uniform State Content Exam, but you can choose to take this version of the test. You can register for either exam on your NMLS account. Learn more here.

 

4. Get your Washington Mortgage Broker license.
Now it’s time to apply for your Washington state loan officer license. Here’s how to do it:

 

  • Log in to NMLS.

 

  • Go to the top corner and click Filing.

 

  • Choose Individual.

 

  • Click Request/New Update, then continue.

 

  • Press Add.

 

  • Choose your Washington license and select Next.

 

  • Select the Washington Mortgage Loan Originator License option. Select Next.

 

  • Make sure all information is correct and press Next.

 

  • Review the final page and press Finish.

 

5. Apply for a background check and pay fees.
Finish off the application process by applying for a background check and paying non-refundable fees. This will include a processing fee, credit report fee, background check fee, and application fee. NMLS will send you an invoice once your application has been approved. Learn more about completing a background check and fingerprints here.

 

6. Associate your NMLS account with your employer.
Finally, it’s time to associate your account with your employer, which will give you full licensure in Washington. Once you’re hired, submit your sponsorship on your NMLS account. This will give you an active license. Find out more about associating your account with your employer here.

 

22 Hr. Pre-Licensing Course For New Loan Officer

This bundle is now available at a discounted rate!

Now For Only $399 $279

Use Coupon Code: WAPEDEAL

mortgage broker license washington state

 

Mortgage Licenses In Washington State For Existing Loan Officers

Already licensed in another state? Get your Washington license today!

Now For Only $79.98

Use Coupon Code: WAPE79

washington mortgage broker license

 

For questions about ordering or other information, call (877) 403-1428

  

Requirements for Mortgage License in Washington 

In accordance with the Secure and Fair Enforcement for Mortgage Licensing Act, all those wishing to obtain their NMLS license in Washington must complete additional requirements on top of completing their education hours.

 

Each state has specific NMLS license requirements when it comes to mortgage education. Washington state requires 22 hours of mortgage education - including a 4 hour Washington state-specific course.

 

Mortgage Educators & Compliance has conveniently bundled the nationally required 18-hour mortgage training course with the state-specific 4-hour state law course in one convenient package for Loan Officers.

 

Additionally, this course bundle includes a comprehensive national test prep to help you pass the national exam on your first try. If you are already licensed in another state, we offer a separate mortgage education course with just the NMLS approved 4 hours of state-specific material.

 

In order to obtain your loan officer license in Washington state, you must complete these education requirements in either a live classroom, Online Instructor-Led (OIL) format, or via live webinar format. The mortgage pre-licensing course bundles shown above are delivered in the OIL format. 

 

The courses are comprised of 5-minute sections, which are presented by a pre-recorded video presentation from one of our experienced instructors. After each section, there is a short quiz that covers that section’s content. Upon finishing the mortgage training course bundle, you should expect a test checking comprehension. 

 

All completed hours of mortgage education are reported to the NMLS by Mortgage Educators & Compliance.

  

Washington NMLS Pre-Licensing Education Requirements

 New state-licensed MLOs are required to complete 22 hours of NMLS-approved education. This includes:

 

  • 3 hours or federal law
  • 3 hours of ethics
  • 2 hours of non-traditional mortgage lending training
  • 10 hours of electives
  • 4 hours of Washington state-specific education

 

PE Expiration Policy in Washington 

PE Expiration is a policy that was created by the NMLS Policy Committee that addresses situations in which an individual is required to retake 20 hours of pre-licensure education if they fail to acquire a valid mortgage license within three years from the last date of licensure as a mortgage loan originator. Washington is currently in pending enactment for the PE Expiration policy which means the policy is currently not enforced, but it will be rolled out soon.

  

Washington Continuing Education Requirements

After you obtain your Washington Mortgage License, there are still educational requirements that you must meet in order to get your Washington mortgage license renewal approved and maintain your MLO status.

 

State-licensed MLOs are required to complete 9 hours of NMLS-approved mortgage education annually beginning the year they are licensed (unless PE was completed in the same year). This includes:

 

  • 3 hours of federal law
  • 2 hours of ethics
  • 2 hours of non-traditional mortgage lending
  • 1 hour of electives
  • 1 hour of Washington state-specific education

 

In order to comply with the SAFE Act’s “successive years” rule, MLOs should note that they may not take the same CE course two years in a row. 

 

Cost of Getting your Mortgage License in Washington

When you’re ready to get your NMLS license in Washington, be prepared to pay the following fees:

 

  • Total License Cost: $125
  • Processing Fee: $30
  • Credit Report: $15
  • Background Check: $36.25  

 

 Become an MLO in Washington

Whether you are looking for a Washington mortgage license renewal or are seeking to obtain your license for the first time, our courses will help you meet all the educational requirements and prepare you to pass the national NMLS test.

 

If you have any questions about our courses, or about how to become an MLO, contact us today. We’re more than happy to answer any questions you may have.

 

The Difference Between A Loan Officer And A Washington Mortgage Broker License

Mortgage broker licenses and loan officer licenses are commonly confused. While they are similar, these two things are not the same. Simply put, a loan officer is employed by a mortgage broker. Loan officers are responsible for leading homebuyers through the mortgage loan process. As such, many people that are looking for a Washington mortgage broker license actually require a loan officer license. Get your Washington loan officer license today with one of the NMLS approved course bundles shown above!

 

Additional Questions?

Mortgage Educators and Compliance is here to answer any additional questions that you may have in regards to your Washington mortgage license. For additional questions, feel free to call us at (877) 403-1428 or email us at 20hour@MortgageEducators.com.

 

                           loan officer license washington state                 nmls washington          washington mortgage continuing education