MyMEC

Forgot your username?

Forgot your password?

 x 

Cart empty

 

Get Your Colorado Mortgage Loan Originator License in 2021!

 

 

Colorado Pre-Licensing Bundle

Card BackCard Front

Starting at: $399 Now Only $259!

Use Promo Code: COPEDEAL

 

 

Add Colorado Elective

Card BackCard Front

Now Only $39.98!

Use Promo Code: COPE39

 

 

 

How to Get Your (MLO) Mortgage License in Colorado

 

 

Step 1

     

Step 2

     

Step 3

 
 

Apply for NMLS Account and ID Number

     

Complete NMLS Pre-License Education

     

Need to pass the SAFE MLO National Test

 
 

The first step to obtaining your Colorado mortgage license is applying for an NMLS account and ID number. To do so, go to the NMLS website.

     

Once you’ve created your NMLS account, it’s time to complete your pre-license education. Colorado requires the 20-hour (18 hour instruction & 2 hour elective) SAFE pre-licensure education course.

      

With your education complete, you need to schedule an appointment for the National Test Component exam and take the NMLS test. Find out more on how to take your NMLS exam here.

 
 

Step 4

     

Step 5

     

Step 6

 
 

Complete Background Check and Pay All Fees

     

Apply for Your Colorado Mortgage License

     

Associate Your NMLS Account with Your Employer

 
 

To finalize your application and receive your license, you'll need to pay several non-refundable fees and complete a background check. Find out more about how to complete your background check and fingerprints here.

     

After receiving a passing score on your NMLS mortgage exam, you need to apply for your Colorado NMLS license. You can find more information on this step here

 

     

Your license will still be pending in Colorado until you have an employer sponsorship, which lets the government know that an employer is supervising your individual license. Learn how to associate your NMLS account with your employer here.

 

 

 

Colorado Mortgage License Education

Our goal is to make your mortgage loan originator education as convenient as possible, though we know it’s not for everyone. Being a loan officer takes a willingness to learn every aspect of the mortgage industry. However, once you are established, a career as a mortgage loan originator can be very fulfilling, flexible, and refreshing. If you don’t mind putting in hard work, like to connect with everyone in your workspace and have a desire to learn, then obtaining your Colorado mortgage loan originator license may be the perfect move for you!

 

Colorado Loan Officer Licensing Requirements

Are you seeking Colorado mortgage license renewal? Or, maybe you’re already a mortgage loan originator moving from another state? If so, the state of Colorado requires you to complete 20 hours of NMLS-certified mortgage education, which includes a 2-hour state law and rules course. We have bundled all of these required hours, along with a national test prep course, into one conveniently managed licensing course bundle.

 

New mortgage licensing, or “pre-licensing,” education requirements can be satisfied via three different mediums. Mortgage education can take place in Online Instructor-Led (OIL) courses (like those shown above), in live classroom settings, or by way of a live webinar. Most new loan originators complete the Colorado loan officer licensing requirements with our online course bundles. For more detailed education requirements in Colorado, click the link shown below. 

 

Colorado Mortgage License Education Requirements

New Colorado state-licensed Mortgage Loan Originators are required to complete a 20-hour pre-licensure education course as dictated by the SAFE Act of 2008. This course includes:

 

  • 3 hours of federal law and regulations

  • 3 hours of ethics, fraud, consumer protection, and fair-lending issues

  • 2 hours of non-traditional mortgage lending

  • 10 hours of undefined instruction (electives)

  • 2 hours of Colorado state law education

 

New Mortgage License Education does not count towards annual CE credits. MLO’s are also advised to not retake any 20-hour new license education course unless otherwise directed by a state regulator.

 

Colorado Mortgage Broker License VS. Colorado Loan Officer License

Mortgage broker licenses are commonly confused with the more common loan officer license. While the terms mortgage broker, loan officer, and mortgage loan originator are similar, they aren’t synonymous. So what’s the difference?

 

Generally speaking, a mortgage broker is a company that employs mortgage loan officers. The loan officers are employed by the broker to originate loans for home-buyers when they are looking for a loan for their mortgage.

 

Cost of Getting Your MLO License in Colorado

Before you get your Colorado mortgage license, it’s important to know the costs involved. Here are all of the fees you’ll need to pay to become licensed:

 

NMLS Initial Processing Fee: $30.00

Credit Report: $15.00

FBI Criminal Background Check: $36.25

State Criminal Background Check (made payable to the CO bureau of Investigations): $39.50

Colorado License Fee: $30.00


Total: $145.75

 

 

Colorado Mortgage Continuing Education Requirements

You will be required to complete eight hours of continuing education before getting your NMLS license in Colorado. These hours include:

 

  • 3 hours of federal law

  • 2 hours of ethics

  • 2 hours of non-traditional mortgage lending

  • 1 hour of Colorado state law education

 

Remember to take into account the “successive years” rule, which prohibits loan officers from taking the same CE course two years in a row. Mortgage Educators changes its continuing education course annually to ensure there are no issues with the successive years rule.

 

**The deadline to complete CE in Colorado is December 31. MLO’s in Colorado are actually prevented from applying for license renewal until they have completed their CE.

Order Your Colorado Mortgage License Course Today

If you’re ready to become a Colorado mortgage loan originator, order your Mortgage Educators Course today. We’ll help you every step of the way so you can achieve your goal of being a licensed loan officer in Colorado.

 

 

 

 

Additional Questions?

Mortgage Educators and Compliance is here to answer any additional questions that you may have in regards to your Colorado mortgage license. For additional questions, feel free to call us at (801) 676-2520 or email us at 20hour@MortgageEducators.com.

 

 

 

 

Colorado Mortgage Education Pre-LicensingColorado MLO NMLS Approved Education