MyMEC

Forgot your username?

Forgot your password?

 x 

Cart empty

California mortgage license school

Get Your California Mortgage License (MLO) with Mortgage Educators in 2020! 

Our mortgage loan officer new license course bundles provide a convenient way to obtain your mortgage license. Our NMLS courses for California loan officers contain everything you’ll need to complete the national and state mortgage education requirements. 

First step, choose the right state mortgage license agency bundle (CA-DBO or CA-DRE)

 

CA-DBO Pre-Licensing Courses

This bundle is now available at a discounted rate!

Now For Only $399 $239.99

Use Coupon Code: CADBO

nmls continuing education california

Already licensed in another state? Add California to your license portfolio!

Now For Only $39.98 

Use Coupon Code: CAPE39

nmls 20 hour course california 

If you are unsure which agency you will be licensed under, please contact your employer, as you must be licensed under the same agency. If you are do not have a sponsor yet, use the following to determine which agency to select:

  • If you hold an active CA real-estate license and are looking to operate under both this and your new mortgage loan origination license, then you will select the CA-DRE
  • If you do not have a CA real-estate license and are not looking to obtain one and are only planning to operate under a mortgage loan origination license, then select the CA-DBO.

 

CA-DRE Pre-Licensing Courses

This bundle is now available at a discounted rate!

Now For Only $349 $239.99

Use Coupon Code: CALPE

button 17

 

CA DBO vs. CA DRE 

There are two separate licensing divisions in California: The California Department of Business Oversight (CA-DBO), and The California Department of Real Estate (CA-DRE). Mortgage Educators & Compliance provide course bundles that satisfy either mortgage license in California. To determine which license you need, we recommend contacting your employer or contact one of our licensing specialists today.  

 

nmls 20 hour course california

 

How to Get Your (MLO) Mortgage License in California

1. Set up your NMLS account and ID number (if you haven’t already).
The first step in getting your mortgage license in California is to set up your NMLS account. Get started by going to the NMLS website and clicking the Login to NMLS button. Next, press Request an Account. Select an individual account and then get your username and ID on the confirmation page.

2. Complete your NMLS Pre-License Education course (a 20-hour SAFE educational course).
With your NMLS account set up, it’s time to take the 20-hour SAFE pre-licensure education course. There are two different MLO licensing agencies in CA: The DBO and the DRE. Both require that you pass the NMLS test, but do have slightly different education requirements.

 

CA-DRE: There isn’t a state law course for the CA-DRE license, but you must be a licensed real estate sales agent or broker in CA to receive your MLO endorsement by completing the 20-hour (no state specific electives).

 

CA-DBO: This license is meant for mortgage bankers and lenders and along with the 20-hour course that includes the 2-hour CA DBO state specific course. We offer the (18+2) CA-DBO course bundle.

 

 3. Pass the NMLS California Mortgage license exam.
The next step in getting your MLO license in California is to take the licensing exam and achieve a passing score. The DRE and DBO both require that you pass the same NMLS test. Register for the exam on your NMLS account and find out more details here.

 

4. Get your California MLO license.
Now it’s time to apply for your California mortgage license. Here are the steps:

 

  • Login to your NMLS account.
  • Navigate to the top. Click Filing.
  • Select Individual.
  • Press Request/New Update and continue.
  • Click the Add button.
  • Select your California license and press Next.
  • Choose the California Mortgage Loan Originator License option. Press Next.
  • Confirm your information and press Next.
  • Review the final page and click Finish.

 

5. Get a background check and pay all fees.
One of the final steps to getting your California MLO license is applying for a background check and paying non-refundable fees. Fees include a processing fee, credit report fee, background check fee, and application fee. You’ll get an invoice for all of these fees once your application has been approved. Learn more here.

 

6. Associate your NMLS account with your employer.
The last step is to associate your account with your employer, granting you full licensure in California. After you’re hired, submit your sponsorship on your NMLS account. Find out more about the process here.

 

Get Your License Faster With Our Live Classroom Courses

We are excited to offer live courses that fulfill either CA-DBO or CA-DRE NMLS training requirements with our live classroom courses! These classroom courses are an expedited option for those trying to obtain an NMLS license in California. With instructors who possess years of industry experience, you’ll have industry-leading support to help you pass the NMLS national exam. Click the button below for current dates and locations.

 

Why Obtain Your Loan Officer License in California?

California has one of the strongest housing markets in the nation and continues to grow year after year. Obtaining your loan officer license in California takes determination, a willingness to learn, and a strong work ethic. After completing the required mortgage training courses, you will need to pass the national exam. To solidify your chances of passing the national exam first try, consider our test prep course. Once you’ve passed the national test, you’ll receive your California mortgage license!

 

Requirements For NMLS Courses in California

Each state has unique NMLS license requirements for new mortgage loan originators. Nationally, 20 hours of mortgage education is required for each new mortgage loan officer. Furthermore, California offers two forms of licensing; CA-DBO and CA-DRE. The CA-DBO requires 2 of those hours to be DBO-specific. Mortgage Educators & Compliance offers pre-licensing course bundles for either DBO or DRE licensing, which include 20 hours of mortgage training courses and a comprehensive test prep course that will help you pass the NMLS national test. New mortgage license education requirements, or “pre-license education”, can be completed either online or in live classroom settings. We offer courses online, in a live online webinar format, or in a live classroom setting designed to satisfy NMLS license requirements conveniently according to your schedule. Primarily, our courses are provided in a weekly Online Instructor-Led (OIL) format. In these courses, our experienced instructors present pre-recorded video and slideshow presentations. These 20-hour courses are comprised of 5-minute sections, followed by a quiz. After completing the 20-hour course, you should expect a comprehensive test. All hours of completed education are reported to the NMLS upon completion by Mortgage Educators & Compliance.

 

PE Expiration Policy

PE Expiration is a policy that was created by the NMLS Policy Committee that addresses situations in which an individual is required to retake 20 hours of pre-licensure education if they fail to acquire a valid mortgage license within three years from the last date of licensure as a mortgage loan originator. California is currently in pending enactment for the PE Expiration policy which means the policy is currently not enforced, but it will be rolled out soon. 

 

Cost of Getting Your Mortgage License in California

In addition, there are financial costs you will have to meet to get your license:

 

  • $200 California application fee
  • $20 California guarantee fund fee
  • $30 NMLS processing fee
  • $36.25 Federal criminal background check
  • $15 Credit report fee
  • $28.75 Other fees

 

Total application fees: $330

 

Keep in mind that this does not include fees for reporting course hours to the NMLS. Mortgage Educators includes all course reporting fees in its prices to help make that process easier. You will, however, be responsible for paying the NMLS testing fee ($110).

  

Are California Broker Licenses and Loan Originator Licenses The Same?

Mortgage loan originators and mortgage brokers are commonly confused terms. As such, many people who are searching for a California broker license are actually looking for a loan originator or loan officer license. So what’s the difference? Generally speaking, a mortgage broker is a company that employs a team of loan officers. Loan officers originate mortgage loans for new home buyers. Therefore, the correct license for a loan officer in California would be one of the options listed above, depending on which division your employer works under.

 

Additional Questions?

Mortgage Educators and Compliance is here to answer any additional questions that you may have in regards to your California mortgage license. For additional questions, feel free to call us at(801) 676-2520 or email us at 20hour@MortgageEducators.com.   

            

   how to become a mortgage broker in california mortgage broker license california          mortgage license california