MyMEC

Forgot your username?

Forgot your password?

 x 

Cart empty

 

Get Your Mortgage Loan Originator License in 2022!

 

 

Massachusetts Bundle

Card BackCard Front

Starting at: $399 Now Only $269!

Use Promo Code: MAPEDEAL

 

 

Licensed in another state and want to add Massachusetts??

Card BackCard Front

Now Only $74.98!

Use Promo Code: MAPE75

 

 

 

How to Get an NMLS Mortgage License in Massachusetts

Are you wondering how to become a loan officer in Massachusetts? Here’s a step by step guide to help obtain your NMLS license in Massachusetts.

 

 

Step 1

     

Step 2

     

Step 3

 
 

Apply For Your NMLS Account and ID Number

     

Complete Your NMLS Pre-License Education

     

Need to Pass the SAFE MLO National Test

 
 

The first step to obtaining your Massachusetts mortgage license is applying for an NMLS account and ID number. To do so, go to the NMLS website.

     

Massachusetts requires new state-licensed MLOs to complete 20 hours of NMLS-approved education. This includes 3 hours of Federal law, 3 hours of ethics, 2 hours of non-traditional mortgage lending, 9 hours of electives, and 3 hours of Massachusetts-specific law.

     

With your education complete, you need to schedule an appointment for the National Test Component exam and take the NMLS test. Find out more on how to take your NMLS exam here.

 
 

Step 4

     

Step 5

     

Step 6

 
 

Complete Background Checks and Pay All Fees

     

Apply for Your Massachusetts Mortgage License

     

Associate Your NMLS Account with Your Employer

 
 

To finalize your application and receive your license, you will need to pay several non-refundable fees and get a background check. Find out more about how to complete your background check here.

     

After receiving a passing score on your NMLS mortgage exam, you need to apply for your Massachusetts NMLS license. You can find more information on this step here.

 

     

Your license will still be pending in Massachusetts until you have an employer sponsorship, which lets the government know that an employer is supervising your license. Learn how to associate your NMLS account with your employer here.

 

 

Frequently Asked Questions

 

Massachusetts Mortgage Licensing Requirements

Massachusetts requires 20 hours of NMLS approved mortgage education, including a 3 hour Massachusetts state law and rules course. Mortgage Educators & Compliance offers both of these courses in a low price bundle of $269 that includes both education required courses and comprehensive test prep to help you score well on the NMLS National Test with UST component.

 

Pre-license mortgage education requirements can be fulfilled in one of three ways; with an online instructor-led course, via a live webinar, or in a live classroom. Mortgage Educators provide these courses in all three available formats. We find that the majority of new loan officers elect for the flexible Online Instructor-Led (OIL) format, which consists of pre-recorded video lectures supported by slideshow presentations, and quizzes that ensure content retention. As you complete your mortgage education, we will report all completed hours of education to the NMLS.

 

Massachusetts Mortgage Broker License VS. Massachusetts Loan Officer License

Mortgage broker licenses are commonly confused with the more common loan officer license. While the terms mortgage broker, loan officer, and mortgage loan originator are similar, they aren’t synonymous. So what’s the difference?

 

Generally speaking, a mortgage broker is a company that employs mortgage loan officers. The loan officers are employed by the broker to originate loans for home-buyers when they are looking for a loan for their mortgage.

 

PE Expiration Policy in Massachusetts

PE Expiration is a policy that was created by the NMLS Policy Committee that addresses situations in which an individual is required to retake 20 hours of pre-licensure education if they fail to acquire a valid mortgage license within three years from the last date of licensure as a mortgage loan originator. Massachusetts is currently enacted for the PE Expiration policy, which means the policy is currently enforced.

 

Cost of Getting Your License in Massachusetts

When you’re ready to get your NMLS license in Massachusetts, be prepared to pay the following fees:

 

$500 - Licensing/Registration Fee

$115 - Investigation Fee

$30 - NMLS Processing Fee

$15 - Credit Report

$36.25 - Background Check

 

Continuing Education Requirements in Massachusetts

To continue to be licensed in Massachusetts, an MLO is required to complete 8 hours of NMLS approved Continuing Education annually, beginning the year they are licensed (unless Pre-Licensing Education has been completed in the same year). This annual education must include 3 hours of federal law, 2 hours of ethics, 2 hours of non-traditional mortgage lending, 4 hours of electives, and 1 hour of Massachusetts-specific law. You can learn more and purchase Massachusetts' Continuing Education courses here.

 

 

 

 

Additional Questions?

Mortgage Educators and Compliance is here to answer any additional questions that you may have in regards to your Massachusetts mortgage license. For additional questions, feel free to call us at (801) 676-2520 or email us at 20hour@MortgageEducators.com.

 

 

 

 

Massachusetts Mortgage Education Pre-LicensingMassachusetts MLO NMLS Approved Education