chat icon



Forgot your username?

Forgot your password?


Cart empty

Get Your New Jersey Mortgage Loan Originator License in 2024!

New Jersey Education Bundle

Card BackCard Front

Starting at: $399 Now Only $279!

Use Promo Code: NJPE279

Licensed in another state and want to add New Jersey?

Card BackCard Front

Now Only $99.98!

Use Promo Code: NJPE99

How to Get an NMLS Mortgage License in New Jersey


Step 1


Step 2


Step 3


Apply For Your New Jersey NMLS Account and ID Number


Complete Your New Jersey NMLS Pre-License Education


Need to Pass the SAFE MLO National Test


The first step to obtaining your New Jersey mortgage license is applying for an NMLS account and ID number. To do so, go to the NMLS website.


Once you've created your NMLS account, it's time to complete your pre-license education. New Jersey requires the 20 hour (16 hours & 4 hours elective) SAFE pre-licensure education course.


With your education complete, you need to schedule an appointment for the National Test Component exam and take the NMLS test. Find out more on how to take your NMLS exam here.


Step 4


Step 5


Step 6


Complete Background Checks and Pay All Fees


Apply for Your New Jersey Mortgage License


Associate Your NMLS Account with Your Employer


To finalize your application and receive your license, you will need to pay several non-refundable fees and get a background check. Find out more about how to complete your background check here.


After receiving a passing score on your NMLS mortgage exam, you need to apply for your New Jersey NMLS license. You can find more information on this step here.



Your license will still be pending in New Jersey until you have an employer sponsorship, which lets the government know that an employer is supervising your license. Learn how to associate your NMLS account with your employer here.


Ready to Become a Mortgage Loan Originator in New Jersey?

Getting your New Jersey mortgage loan originator license is an exciting opportunity to further your career. Still, you can expect to invest time and energy into learning the ins and outs of the position.

Mortgage Educators is here to help you along your path by offering convenient, easy-to-understand courses that take care of all New Jersey pre-licensure education requirements. Those who are committed, dedicated, and ready to work hard will thrive in this career.

New Jersey Frequently Asked Questions

In an effort to curb the predatory lending practices that led to the demise of the housing and residential mortgage industry in 2008, the Secure and Fair Enforcement for Mortgage Licensing Act (SAFE) was enacted. This opened up a world of opportunity to those driven to attain an MLO license and then work hard to match people with loan products.


Four elective hours must cover New Jersey specific regulations and laws. Mortgage Educators includes all of this bundled together, making it easy to keep track of your educational progress.

Topic Hours Required
Fair Lending, Ethics, Fraud, and Consumer Protection 3 Hours
Federal Laws and Regulations 3 Hours
Non-Standard Lending 2 Hours
Undefined Electives 8 Hours
New Jersey Specific Law 4 Hours
Total 20 Hours

Although it hasn't been enacted, be on the look out for the PE expiration policy coming soon. It states - If you complete the required 20 hours of education but do not obtain your license for a 3-year period, you'll need to repeat the coursework. The same applies if you let your license lapse for 3+ years before you want to get back into the industry.

A “mortgage broker” refers to an individual or an organization that connects consumers with mortgage loans from a variety of companies. Mortgage brokers frequently employ loan officers. In contrast, a loan officer is an employee who regularly works with borrowers and provides loans that are originated by their employer. Brokers and loan officers need different types of licenses.

Earning your mortgage broker license in New Jersey should be considered an investment well worth your time. Here’s what to expect when it comes to licensing fees in New Jersey:

NMLS Initial Processing Fee $30
New Jersey Application Fee $180
Credit Report $15
FBI Criminal Background Check $36.25
Total License Cost $261.25

On an annual basis, New Jersey MLO license holders must complete 11 total hours of Comprehensive Continuing Education that must cover:

Topic Required Hours
Federal Regulations and Law 3 Hours
Ethics, including consumer protection, fair lending 2 Hours
Non-Traditional mortgage lending 2 Hours
Electives 3 Hours
New Jersey Specific Education 2 Hours

Mortgage Educators and Compliance is here to answer any additional questions you may have regarding your New Jersey mortgage license. For additional questions, feel free to call us at (801) 676-2520 or email us at


Get Your New Jersey Mortgage License

If you’re ready to get your New Jersey mortgage loan originator license, you can count on Mortgage Educators to help you through the process. Get your online course bundle or CE course today. 

New Jersey Mortgage Education Pre-LicensingNew Jersey MLO NMLS Approved Education