MyMEC

Forgot your username?

Forgot your password?

 x 

Cart empty

 

Get Your Mortgage Loan Originator License in 2021!

 

Georgia Pre-Licensing Education

Card BackCard Front

Starting at: $349 Now Only $239!

Use Promo Code: 20PEDEAL

 

 

 

How to Get Your Mortgage License in Georgia

 

 

Step 1

     

Step 2

     

Step 3

 
 

Apply For Your NMLS Account and ID Number

     

Complete Your NMLS Pre-License Education

     

Need to Pass the SAFE MLO National Test

 
 

The first step to obtaining your Georgia mortgage license is applying for an NMLS account and ID number. To do so, go to the NMLS website.

     

Your mortgage license in Georgia requires 20 hours of instruction, which must be pre-approved by the NMLS. This includes 3 hours of Federal law, 3 hours of ethics, 2 hours of non-traditional mortgage lending, and 12 hours of undefined education (electives).

     

With your education complete, you need to schedule an appointment for the National Test Component exam. Find out more on how to take your NMLS test here. Also check out the NMLS MLO testing handbook.

 
 

Step 4

     

Step 5

     

Step 6

 
 

Complete Background Checks and Pay All Fees

     

Apply for Your Georgia Mortgage License

     

Associate Your NMLS Account with Your Employer

 
 

To finalize your application and receive your license, you will need to pay several non-refundable fees and get a background check. Find out more about how to complete your background check here.

     

After receiving a passing score on your NMLS mortgage exam, you need to apply for your Georgia mortgage loan originator license. You can find more information on this step here.

     

Your license will still be pending in Georgia until you have an employer sponsorship, which lets the government know that an employer is supervising your individual license. Learn how to associate your NMLS account with your employer here.

 

 

The Georgia MLO License: Gateway to an Exciting Career

Are you a social person? Are you focused on useful services? If so, imagine how exciting it would be to meet a wide variety of successful, motivated clients every day who are buying property. Imagine using your natural personality to guide and educate them in this crucial aspect of their finances. And imagine being a lifelong learner.

 

If you’re interested in a mortgage license in Georgia, you need to obtain one efficiently. Mortgage Educators has perfected our simple process to do that. Use our education bundle to take your 20 hours of general mortgage education, including 3 hours of Georgia electives, in a structured setting. Then, take a practice exam to be completely ready. Let us help you get started serving your community as soon as you can.

 

 

Georgia Mortgage License Education Requirements

You can get all the Georgia pre-test education you need from a Mortgage Educators bundle, including a practice test to help you be fully ready to score well on the actual. The bundle will guide you through these Georgia requirements:

 

- 3 hours on Federal regulations and law

- 3 hours on fair lending, consumer protection, ethics, and fraud

- 2 hours on non-traditional mortgages

- 12 hours on a variety of electives

 

 

What's the Difference Between a Georgia Mortgage Broker License and a Georgia Loan Officer License?

A Georgia mortgage broker license is obtained by an organization that employs individual mortgage officers. (Alternately, a broker license may be obtained by a specialized type of individual who connects consumers with several different mortgage companies.) In contrast, an individual mortgage producer gets a Georgia MLO license and works for an organization—which is likely your best path.

 

Cost of Getting Your Mortgage License in Georgia

Your non-refundable fees will include:

 

- GA Application and License Fee: $100

- NMLS Processing Fee: $30

- Credit Report: $15

- FBI Background Check: $36.25

 

 

PE Expiration Policy in Georgia

 

The general PE expiration policy states that your pre-license education expires after 3 years—either if you do not obtain a license within 3 years of taking your initial classes or if you had a license but did not re-apply for it for 3 years. This policy is now being enforced for Georgia MLO licenses.

 

Georgia Continuing Education Requirements

 

By December 31 of each year, you must apply to renew your mortgage license in Georgia, along with a $100 renewal fee. You must also take continuing education split between these subjects:

 

- 3 hours on Federal regulations

- 2 hours on ethics

- 2 hours on non-standard loans

- 1 hour on GA-focused law and issues

 

You should complete your CE requirements by October 31 at the latest and have your application submitted between November 1 and December 31. Your education company will report your completed education to the NMLS.

 

If your application has not been approved by December 31, you can continue working on January 1 and beyond; however, if your application is simply incomplete, your license may expire. Check with the NMLS each year to be sure of the current renewal requirements, as some may periodically change.

 

Begin Your Georgia MLO License Education Today

Are you ready to start an exciting and lucrative career as a mortgage officer in Georgia? Get your education bundle from Mortgage Educators here (or work on your CE requirements), and start your education today.

 

 

Additional Questions?

Mortgage Educators and Compliance is here to answer any additional questions you may have regarding your Georgia mortgage license. For additional questions, feel free to call us at (801) 676-2520 or email us at 20hour@MortgageEducators.com.

 

 

 

 

Georgia Mortgage Education Pre-Licensing