MyMEC

Forgot your username?

Forgot your password?

 x 

Cart empty

 

Get Your Mortgage Loan Originator License in 2021!

 

 

Michigan Pre-Licensing Bundle

Card BackCard Front

Starting at: $399 Now Only $259!

Use Promo Code: MIPEDEAL

 

 

Licensed in another state and want to add Michigan?

Card BackCard Front

Now Only $39.98!

Use Promo Code: MIPE39

 

 

How to Get Your (MLO) Mortgage License in Michigan

1. Apply for Your NMLS Account and ID Number

The first step to obtaining your Utah mortgage license is applying for an NMLS account and ID number. To do so, go to the NMLS website.

 

2. Complete Your NMLS Pre-License Education

Once you’ve created your NMLS account, it’s time to complete your pre-license education. Michigan requires hours (18 hours & 2 hours elective) SAFE pre-licensure education.

 

3. Need to Pass the SAFE NMLS Mortgage Licensing Test

With your education complete, you need to schedule an appointment for the National Test Component exam and take the NMLS test. Find out more on how to take your NMLS exam here.

 

4. Complete Background Checks and Pay All Fees

To finalize your application and receive your license, you’ll need to pay several non-refundable fees and complete a background check. Find out more about how to complete your background check and fingerprints here.

 

5. Apply for your Washington Mortgage License

After receiving a passing score on your NMLS exam, you need to apply for your Washington NMLS license. You can find more information on how to apply here.

 

6. Associate your NMLS Account with your Employer

Your mortgage license will be in a pending state in Washington until you have an employer sponsorship, which lets the government know that an employer is supervising your individual license. Learn how to associate your NMLS account with your employer here.

 

Earn Your Mortgage License in Michigan

Are you someone who has strong social skills, self-discipline, and a commitment to learning? If so, getting a mortgage license in Michigan could launch you into a satisfying and rewarding career. By studying your coursework and passing your exam, you will be well on your way to becoming a successful MLO in Michigan. Mortgage Educators & Compliance is here to help you reach your goals. We make the process of completing your prerequisites streamlined and simple, so you can focus on passing the National NMLS license exam.

 

Michigan Mortgage License Education Requirements:

 

All MLOs in Michigan must take 20 hours of mortgage education courses, including 2 hours of Michigan state law and rules. These requirements differ by state and can be confusing, but Mortgage Educators & Compliance makes it easy for you to know exactly which courses you need to take with our bundled courses. 

 

Our SAFE pre-licensure education course for Michigan MLOs includes:

 

3 hours of federal law education

3 hours of ethics

2 hours of non-traditional mortgage lending

12 hours of elective courses (includes 2 hours of MI state-specific law)

 

What's the Difference Between a Michigan Mortgage Broker License and a Michigan Loan Officer License?

 Though some people use the terms “mortgage broker” and “mortgage loan officer” interchangeably, they are actually two distinct roles. A mortgage loan originator is employed by a mortgage broker and facilitates customers with their obtaining of a mortgage. If you’re interested in becoming an MLO, enroll in MEC’s Pre-Licensing MLO Course and NMLS National Test Prep courses today

 

Cost of Getting Your Mortgage License in Michigan

So how much does it cost to get your mortgage license in Michigan? Here are the associated fees:

 

$250 - License/registration fee

$30 - Processing fee

$36.25 - Federal background check

$15 - Credit report

Total fees: $331.25

 

This fee does not include the required NMLS National Test which costs $110 as of February 2021.

 

PE Expiration Policy in Michigan

The PE expiration policy was put into place by the NMLS Policy Committee for prospective MLOs who fail to obtain a new license within three years of their date of education completion. Unfortunately those who fall into this category, will need to retake their pre-licensure education in its entirety. This policy is pending enactment, so it is not yet enforced in Michigan (however it will be eventually).

 

Michigan Continuing Education Requirements

When it is time to renew your mortgage license in Michigan, you will need to complete 8 hours of continuing education courses. Annual CE education requirements in Michigan include:

 

3 hours of federal law

2 hours of ethics

2 hours of non-traditional mortgage lending

1 hour of an elective course

 

Let Mortgage Educators & Compliance Help

 It is time to fulfill your goal of becoming a mortgage loan officer in Michigan! Complete your purchase of the Michigan Pre-Licensing Bundle and and prepare to pass your MLO exam with ease.

 

Additional Questions?

Mortgage Educators and Compliance is here to answer any additional questions that you may have in regards to your Michigan mortgage license. For additional questions, feel free to call us at (801) 676-2520 or email us at 20hour@MortgageEducators.com.

 

 

 

 

Michigan Mortgage Education Pre-LicensingMichigan MLO NMLS Approved Education