MyMEC

Forgot your username?

Forgot your password?

 x 

Cart empty

Get Your Mortgage Loan Originator License in 2021!

 

 

Hawaii Pre-Licensing Bundle

Card BackCard Front

Starting at: $399 Now Only $269!

Use Promo Code: HIPEDEAL

 

 

Licensed in another state and want to add Hawaii?

Card BackCard Front

Now Only $59.98!

Use Promo Code: HIPE59

 

 

 

How to Get Your (MLO) Mortgage License in Hawaii

 

 

Step 1

     

Step 2

     

Step 3

 
 

Apply For Your NMLS Account and ID Number

     

Complete Your NMLS Pre-License Education

     

Need to Pass the SAFE MLO National Test

 
 

The first step to obtaining your Hawaii mortgage license is applying for an NMLS account and ID number. To do so, go to the NMLS website.

     

Once you’ve created your NMLS account, it’s time to complete your pre-license education. Hawaii requires the 20-hour (17 hours & 3 hour elective) SAFE pre-licensure education course.

     

With your education complete, you need to schedule an appointment for the National Test Component exam. Find out more on how to take your NMLS test here. Also check out the NMLS MLO testing handbook.

 
 

Step 4

     

Step 5

     

Step 6

 
 

Complete Background Checks and Pay All Fees

     

Apply for Your Hawaii Mortgage License

     

Associate Your NMLS Account with Your Employer

 
 

To finalize your application and receive your license, you will need to pay several non-refundable fees and get a background check. Find out more about how to complete your background check here.

     

After receiving a passing score on your NMLS mortgage exam, you need to apply for your Hawaii mortgage loan originator license. You can find more information on this step here.

 

     

Your license will still be pending in Hawaii until you have an employer sponsorship, which lets the government know that an employer is supervising your individual license. Learn how to associate your NMLS account with your employer here.

 

 

Hawaii Mortgage License Requirements

Obtaining a mortgage license in Hawaii and becoming a loan officer is very simple, but it’s not for everyone. It takes a willingness to learn the basic ins and outs of the industry as well as a desire to work hard.

 

The mortgage industry is a great one to get into and it provides a lot of flexibility. If you like to work hard, you are a people person, and you have a desire to learn, becoming a mortgage loan officer is the perfect choice for you.

Hawaii requires 20 hours of national mortgage education, which includes 3 hours of Hawaii state-specific laws and rules course. Mortgage Educators offers both of these courses in a bundle at the low price of $269. This includes both courses, and a comprehensive test prep course to help you score well on the NMLS national test.

 

New mortgage license education, or "pre-license education" must be completed in either a live classroom or online instructor-led format. Mortgage Educators & Compliance provides these courses weekly in an Online Instructor-Led (OIL) format. These courses are presented by instructors via pre-recorded video with slideshow presentations.

 

Courses are broken up into chapters comprised of 5-minute sections and quizzes that make up the overall content. At the end of the course, students should expect a short test to check for comprehension. All hours are reported to the NMLS upon completion by Mortgage Educators & Compliance. 

  

Hawaii New Mortgage License Education Requirements

To obtain a mortgage loan officer license in Hawaii, there are educational requirements imposed both on a national and a state level that must be satisfied as per the Secure and Fair Enforcement for Mortgage Licensing Act.

 

New state-licensed Mortgage Loan Originators are required to complete a 20-hour SAFE pre-licensure education course that includes a 3-hour Hawaii state law and rules course. The course is broken down into these hours:

 

- 3 hours of Federal law and regulations

- 3 hours of ethics, fraud, consumer protection, and fair lending issues

- 2 hours of non-traditional mortgage lending

- 12 hours of undefined instruction (electives)

- This includes 3 hours of Hawaii state law and rules

 

New Mortgage License Education does not count towards annual CE credits. MLO's are also advised to not retake any 20-hour new license education course unless otherwise directed by a state regulator.

 

Mortgage Educators offers a 20-hour course that is designed to satisfy all of the above educational requirements. The course is taught by David Luna, a prolific member of the Mortgage License industry, having over 35 years of experience in the field. This course also includes test prep materials that you need to pass the national test.

 

If you have already earned your loan officer license out of state and are trying to apply in Hawaii, you can opt for our 3-hour self-study program which will help satisfy the state educational requirements.

 

Hawaii Mortgage Broker License VS. Hawaii Loan Officer License

Mortgage broker licenses are commonly confused with the more common loan officer license. While the terms mortgage broker, loan officer, and mortgage loan originator are similar, they aren’t synonymous. So what’s the difference?

 

Generally speaking, a mortgage broker is a company that employs mortgage loan officers. The loan officers are employed by the broker to originate loans for home-buyers when they are looking for a loan for their mortgage.

 

Cost of Getting your Mortgage License in Hawaii

In addition to education and application requirements, there are financial costs involved with getting your license, including:

 

$865 total license fee

$30 NMLS processing fee

$36.25 Federal criminal background check

$15 Credit Report fee

Total fees: $946.2

 

Keep in mind that this does not include fees for reporting course hours to the NMLS. Mortgage Educators includes all course reporting fees in its prices to help make that process easier. You will, however, be responsible for paying the NMLS testing fee ($110).

 

Hawaii Continuing Education Requirements

Even after you meet all of the requirements and finally obtain your mortgage license in Hawaii, there are still annual requirements you will have to meet in the form of Continuing Education.

 

Every state-licensed Mortgage Loan Originator is required to complete an 8-hour Continuing Education course that includes 1 hour of Hawaii state law education

 

Remember to take into account the "successive years" rule, which prohibits loan officers from taking the same CE course two years in a row. Mortgage Educators changes its continuing education course annually to ensure no issues with the "successive years" rule.

 

**The deadline to complete CE in Hawaii is December 31. MLO’s in Hawaii are prevented from applying for license renewal until they have completed their CE.

 

Learn More about Getting Your Mortgage License in Hawaii

Becoming an MLO is very simple, but not easy. Fortunately, Mortgage Educators is here to help.

 

All of our curriculums are created and taught by industry experts that have years of experience resulting in rewarding content that will help prepare you to get your license and excel in your field.

 

If you have questions about our courses or about obtaining a loan officer or mortgage broker license in Hawaii, contact us today. We’ll be more than happy to answer any questions you may have and go into greater detail about mortgage license requirements.

 

 

 

 

Additional Questions?

 

Mortgage Educators and Compliance is here to answer any additional questions you may have regarding your Hawaii mortgage license. For additional questions, feel free to call us at (801) 676-2520 or email us at 20hour@MortgageEducators.com.

 

 

 

 

Hawaii Mortgage Education Pre-LicensingHawaii MLO NMLS Approved Education