MyMEC

Forgot your username?

Forgot your password?

 x 

Cart empty

 

Get Your Mortgage Loan Originator License in 2021!

 

 

Florida Pre-Licensing Bundle

Card BackCard Front

Starting at: $399 Now Only $239!

Use Promo Code: FLPEDEAL

 

 

Licensed in another state and want to add Florida?

Card BackCard Front

Now Only $39.98!

Use Promo Code: FLPE39

 

 

 

How to Get Your (MLO) Mortgage License in Florida

 

 

Step 1

     

Step 2

     

Step 3

 
 

Apply For Your NMLS Account and ID Number

     

Complete Your NMLS Pre-License Education

     

Need to Pass the NMLS Mortgage licensing Test

 
 

The first step to getting your Florida mortgage license is applying for an NMLS account and ID number. To do so, go to the NMLS website.

     

Once you’ve created your NMLS account, it's time to complete your pre-license education. Florida requires the 20-hour (18 hours & 2 hours elective) SAFE pre- licensure education course.

     

With your education complete, you need to schedule an appointment for the National Test Component exam. Find out more on how to take your test here. Also take a look at the NMLS MLO testing handbook.

 
 

Step 4

     

Step 5

     

Step 6

 
 

Complete Background Checks and Pay All Fees

     

Apply for your Florida Mortgage License

     

Associate Your NMLS Account With Your Employer

 
 

After receiving a passing score on your NMLS mortgage exam, you need to apply for your NMLS license. Find out more about how to complete your background check and fingerprints here.

     

If you have passed your NMLS exam, you need to apply for your Florida MLO license. You can find more information on how to apply here.

 

     

Your mortgage license will be in a pending state in Florida until you have an employer sponsorship, which lets the government know that an employer is supervising your individual license. Learn how to associate your NMLS account with your employer here.

 

 

Getting Your Mortgage License in Florida

A mortgage license in Florida could be the foundation to the flexible, lively, and engaging career you’re seeking. However, getting licensed is hard work, and requires dedication and a willingness to learn. Our goal is to make obtaining your mortgage license as convenient, and simple as possible. Our mortgage license course bundles satisfy all of Florida’s required education credits and include a test prep course to help you pass the national NMLS license exam. So, if you are social, diligent, and dedicated to learning, obtaining your Florida mortgage license may be a perfect choice.

 

Florida Mortgage License Requirements

A mortgage license in Florida could be the foundation for the flexible, lively, and engaging career you’re seeking. However, getting licensed is hard work, and requires dedication and a willingness to learn.

 

Our goal is to make obtaining your mortgage license as convenient, and simple as possible. Our mortgage license course bundles satisfy all of Florida’s required education credits and include a test prep course to help you pass the national NMLS license exam.

 

So, if you are social, diligent, and dedicated to learning, obtaining your mortgage license in Florida may be a perfect choice.

 

Requirements for Obtaining Your Florida Mortgage Loan Originator (MLO) License

The SAFE Act of 2008 dictates that new loan originators in Florida must complete 20 hours of mortgage education: an 18 hour online instructor-led course, and a 2-hour Florida state law and rules course.

New state-licensed Mortgage Loan Originators are required to complete a 20-hour SAFE pre-licensure education course that includes:

 

  • 3 hours of fraud, ethics, fair lending issues, and consumer protection

  • 3 hours of Federal regulations and laws

  • 2 hours of non-traditional lending

  • 10 hours of undefined instruction (electives)

  • 2 hours of Florida state law education

 

What's the Difference Between a Florida Mortgage Broker License and a Loan Officer License?

“Mortgage broker” and “mortgage loan officer” are frequently confused terms. As a result, many people searching for a Florida mortgage broker license are actually trying to get licensed as a mortgage loan originator.

So what’s the difference, and which should you get? Simply put, mortgage loan originators are employed by a mortgage broker. Loan officers are responsible for providing mortgage loans to homeowners. Therefore, if you are seeking a career in loan origination, you will need to select the Instructor-Led Bundle, Pre-Licensed Course, or NMLS National Test Prep.

 

Cost of Getting Your Mortgage License in Florida

Here are the costs you’ll need to pay to obtain your mortgage loan originator license in Florida:

 

NMLS Initial Processing Fee: $30.00

Credit Report: $15.00

FBI Criminal Background Check: $36.25

State Criminal Background Check: $24.00

Florida License Fee: $195.00


Total: $300.25

 

 

Keep in mind that this does not include fees for reporting course hours to the NMLS. Mortgage Educators includes all course reporting fees in its prices to help make that process easier. You will, however, be responsible for paying the NMLS testing fee ($110).

 

 

PE Expiration Policy in Florida

PE Expiration is a policy that was created by the NMLS Policy Committee that addresses situations in which an individual is required to retake 20 hours of pre-licensure education if they fail to acquire a valid mortgage license within three years from the last date of licensure as a mortgage loan originator. Florida is currently in pending enactment for the PE Expiration policy which means the policy is currently not enforced, but it will be rolled out soon.

 

 

Florida Continuing Education Requirements

The renewal of your NMLS license in Florida requires the completion of CE, or continuing education, which is done annually. For Florida, you will need to complete a 7-hour CE course with an additional 1-hour course of state law.

 

Once the courses are completed, Mortgage Educators will ensure that your completed hours are reported to the NMLS. Just apply for mortgage license renewal in Florida, pay the fee to the NMLS by the end of the year, and you’ll carry your license into the following year.

 

The "successive years" rule is a rule from the NMLS stating that loan officers cannot take the same course two years in a row. This doesn’t mean you cannot take courses with the same course provider year after year; it simply means you cannot take the same course. 

 

Mortgage Educators change its courses annually, so our students are never in violation of the Successive Year Rule.

 

**The deadline to complete CE in Florida is December 31. MLO’s in Florida are actually prevented from applying for license renewal until they have completed their CE.

 

 

 

Additional Questions?

Mortgage Educators and Compliance is here to answer any additional questions that you may have in regards to your Florida mortgage license. For additional questions, feel free to call us at (801) 676-2520 or email us at 20hour@MortgageEducators.com.

 

 

 

 

florida mortgage licenseFL MLO Education NMLS Approved Provider