MyMEC

Forgot your username?

Forgot your password?

 x 

Cart empty

 

Get Your Mortgage Loan Originator License in 2021!

 

 

Utah Pre-Licensing Courses

Card BackCard Front

Starting at: $779 Now Only $379.98!

Use Coupon Code: ANJ379

 

 

Licensed in another state and want to add Utah?

Card BackCard Front

Now Only $149.98!

 

 

 

Utah Post-Licensure

Card BackCard Front

Starting at: $250 Now Only $59.98!

 

Post Licensure Course for Newly Licensed Utah Loan Originators

 

 

 

How to Get Your (MLO) Mortgage License in Utah

 

1. Apply for Your NMLS Account and ID Number

The first step to obtaining your Utah mortgage license is applying for an NMLS account and ID number. To do so, go to the NMLS website.

 

2. Complete Your NMLS Pre-License Education

Once you’ve created your NMLS account, it’s time to complete your pre-license education. Utah requires 35 hours (20 hours & 15 hours elective) SAFE pre-licensure education.

 

3. Need to Pass the SAFE MLO National Test

With your education complete, you need to schedule an appointment for the National Test Component exam and take the NMLS test. Find out more on how to take your NMLS exam here.

 

4. Complete Background Checks and Pay All Fees

To finalize your application and receive your license, you’ll need to pay several non-refundable fees and complete a background check. Find out more about how to complete your background check and fingerprints here.

 

5. Apply for Your Utah Mortgage License

After receiving a passing score on your NMLS mortgage exam, you need to apply for your Utah NMLS license. You can find more information on this step for (DFI) here and (DRE) here.

 

6. Associate Your NMLS Account with Your Employer

Your license will still be pending in Utah until you have an employer sponsorship, which lets the government know that an employer is supervising your individual license. Learn how to associate your NMLS account with your employer here.

 

Utah Mortgage License Requirements

Every state has a unique set of NMLS license requirements concerning mortgage education. New mortgage loan originators are required to complete a 20-hour NMLS course, which is standard for every state. Additionally, Utah mortgage licensing requirements dictate that each new mortgage loan originator must complete a state-specific, 15-hour course on laws and rules. Therefore, obtaining an MLO license in Utah requires a total of 35 hours of combined mortgage education.

 

 

Utah Mortgage Broker License VS. Utah Loan Officer License

Mortgage broker licenses are commonly confused with the more common loan officer license. While the terms mortgage broker, loan officer, and mortgage loan originator are similar, they aren’t synonymous. So what’s the difference?

 

Generally speaking, a mortgage broker is a company that employs mortgage loan officers. The loan officers are employed by the broker to originate loans for home-buyers when they are looking for a loan for their mortgage.

 

 

MLO Pre-Licensing Requirements in Utah

There are three ways to complete the pre-licensing mortgage education requirements, otherwise known as “pre-license” education. Mortgage training requirements may be fulfilled in a live classroom setting at a Utah mortgage license school, in an online instructor-led (OIL) format, or in a live webinar.

 

Primarily, we provide these mortgage training courses in conveniently bundled OIL formats. The courses are led by an instructor via pre-recorded video and slideshow presentations. Each section of the course lasts 5 minutes and is followed by a quiz.

 

Utah New Mortgage License Education Requirements

 

New state-licensed mortgage loan originators are required to complete 35 hours of SAFE pre-licensure education that includes:

- 3 hours of Federal law and regulations

- 3 hours of ethics, fraud, consumer protection, and fair lending issues

- 2 hours of non-traditional mortgage lending

- 12 hours of undefined instruction (electives)

- 15 hours of Utah state law education

 

New Mortgage License Education does not count towards annual CE credits. MLO's are also advised to not retake any 20-hour new license education course unless otherwise directed by a state regulator.

 

 

Cost of Getting Your License in Utah

Here is a complete list of the costs involved with getting your MLO license in Utah:

 

- NMLS Initial Processing Fee: $30

- UT-DRE Application Fee: $118

- Credit Report: $15

- FBI Criminal Background Check: $36.25

 

Total Application Fees: $199.25

 

 

Taking the NMLS Exam

After completing the pre-licensing course bundle, you will be ready to take the NMLS license national exam. Prepare for the national exam with our NMLS test prep bundles to maximize your chances of passing the national exam on your first try.

 

All completed hours of pre-licensing education will be reported to the NMLS by Mortgage Educators & Compliance. To learn more about Utah’s specific licensing requirements, click the button below.

 

 

PE Expiration Policy in Utah

PE Expiration is a policy that was created by the NMLS Policy Committee that addresses situations in which an individual is required to retake 20 hours of pre-licensure education if they fail to acquire a valid mortgage license within three years from the last date of licensure as a mortgage loan originator. Utah is currently in pending enactment for the PE Expiration policy which means the policy is currently not enforced, but it will be rolled out soon.

 

 

Utah (DFI) Continuing Education Requirements

Anyone seeking a mortgage license in Utah (DFI) is required to complete an 8-hour continuing education course. The course hours are broken down as follows:

 

- 3 hours of federal law

- 2 hours of ethics

- 2 hours of non-traditional mortgage lending

- 1 hour of electives

 

Remember to take into account the "successive years" rule, which prohibits loan officers from taking the same CE course two years in a row. Mortgage Educators changes its continuing education course annually to ensure no issues with the "successive years" rule.

 

**The deadline to complete CE in Utah (DFI) is December 31. MLO’s in Utah are actually prevented from applying for license renewal until they have completed their CE.

 

Utah (DRE) Continuing Education Requirements

Anyone seeking a mortgage license in Utah (DRE) is required to complete a 10-hour continuing education course. The course hours are broken down as follows:

 

- 3 hours of federal law

- 2 hours of ethics

- 2 hours of non-traditional mortgage lending

- 1 hour of electives

- 2 hours of Utah-specific law

 

**The deadline to complete Utah (DRE) CE in Utah is December 15. MLO’s in Utah are actually prevented from applying for license renewal until they have completed their CE.

 

Get Your Mortgage License in Utah

If you’re new to the state or seeking a Utah mortgage license renewal, Mortgage Educators is ready to help. Learn why we’re the most convenient and flexible option by enrolling today in our Utah mortgage license bundle course or ourUtah pre-licensure course.

 

 

 

Additional Questions?

Mortgage Educators and Compliance is here to answer any additional questions that you may have in regards to your Utah mortgage license. For additional questions, feel free to call us at (801) 676-2520 or email us at 20hour@MortgageEducators.com.

 

 

 

 

how to become a mortgage broker in utahUT MLO Education NMLS Approved Provider