MyMEC

Forgot your username?

Forgot your password?

 x 

Cart empty

 

Get Your New Jersey Mortgage Loan Originator License in 2021!

 

 

New Jersey Education Bundle

Card BackCard Front

Starting at: $399 Now Only $279!

Use Promo Code: NJPE279

 

 

Licensed in another state and want to add New Jersey?

Card BackCard Front

Now Only $79.98!

Use Promo Code: NJPE79

 

 

 

How to Get Your (MLO) Mortgage License in New Jersey 

 

1. Apply for Your NMLS Account and ID Number

The first step to obtaining your New Jersey mortgage license is applying for an NMLS account and ID number. To do so, go to the NMLS website.

 

2. Complete Your NMLS Pre-License Education 

Once you've created your NMLS account, it's time to complete your pre-license education. New Jersey requires the 20 hour (16 hours & 4 hours elective) SAFE pre-licensure education course. 

 

3. Pass the NMLS Mortgage Licensing Test

With your education complete, you need to schedule an appointment for the SAFE MLO National test. Find out more on how to take your NMLS exam here.

 

4. Complete Background Checks and Pay All Fees

To finalize your application and receive your license, you’ll need to pay several non-refundable fees and complete a background check. Find out more about how to complete your background check and fingerprints here.

 

5. Apply for Your New Jersey Mortgage License

After receiving a passing score on your NMLS mortgage exam, you need to apply for your New Jersey NMLS license. You can find more information on this step here.

 

6. Associate Your NMLS Account with Your Employer

Your license will still be pending in New Jersey until you have an employer sponsorship, which lets the government know that an employer is supervising your individual license. Learn how to associate your NMLS account with your employer here.

 

Ready to Become a Mortgage Loan Originator in New Jersey?

Getting your New Jersey mortgage loan originator license is an exciting opportunity to further your career. Still, you can expect to invest time and energy into learning the ins and outs of the position.

 

Mortgage Educators is here to help you along your path by offering convenient, easy-to-understand courses that take care of all New Jersey pre-licensure education requirements. Those who are committed, dedicated, and ready to work hard will thrive in this career.

 

New Jersey Mortgage License Education Requirements:

According to the SAFE Act of 2008, all MLOs in New Jersey are required to finish 20 hours of mortgage education training. This 20-hour coursework includes:

 

- 3 hours of federal law

- 3 hours of ethics

- 2 hours of non-traditional mortgage lending

- 8 hours of electives

- 4 hours of New Jersey specific law

 

 

What's the Difference Between a New Jersey Mortgage Broker License and a New Jersey Loan Officer License?

Confused by the terms “mortgage broker” and “loan officer”? Though they sound similar, there are some key differences between the two roles. A mortgage broker employs a loan officer to provide mortgages to prospective homeowners. Begin your mortgage loan officer career today by purchasing the Instructor-Led Bundle,Pre-Licensed Course, or NMLS National Test Prep.

 

Cost of Getting Your Mortgage License in New Jersey

 

Earning your mortgage broker license in New Jersey should be considered an investment well worth your time. Here’s what to expect when it comes to licensing fees in New Jersey:

 

- $180 - application fee

- $30 - NMLS processing fee

- $36.25 - Federal criminal background check

- $15 - Fee for credit report

 

Total license costs: $261.25

 

 

PE Expiration Policy in New Jersey

The PE Expiration Policy was created for those who must retake their pre-licensure education courses because they did not get a valid mortgage license within three years from their last date of licensure. This policy is still pending in New Jersey, but will be adhered to soon.

 

 

New Jersey Continuing Education Requirements

Any MLO who wants to renew their license is required to take 12 hours of annual continuing education courses. These education requirements include:

 

- 3 hours of federal law

- 2 hours of ethics

- 2 hours of non-traditional mortgage lending

- 3 hours of electives

- 2 hours of New Jersey state-specific education

 

 

Get Your New Jersey Mortgage License

 

If you’re ready to get your New Jersey mortgage loan originator license, you can count on Mortgage Educators to help you through the process. Get your online course bundle or CE course today.

 

 

 

 

Additional Questions?

Mortgage Educators and Compliance is here to answer any additional questions that you may have in regards to your New Jersey mortgage license. For additional questions, feel free to call us at (801) 676-2520 or email us at 20hour@MortgageEducators.com.

 

 

 

 

New Jersey Mortgage Education Pre-LicensingNew Jersey MLO NMLS Approved Education