MyMEC

Forgot your username?

Forgot your password?

 x 

Cart empty

 

Get Your Mortgage Loan Originator License in 2022!

 

Missouri Pre-Licensing Education

Card BackCard Front

Starting at: $349 Now Only $239!

Use Promo Code: 20PEDEAL

 

 

Obtaining a mortgage license and becoming a mortgage loan originator involves a simple process in which you will need to complete your state-specific education requirements and take and pass a national exam. Once these two steps have been completed, you're well on your way to becoming a licensed Loan Originator!

 

How to Get an NMLS Mortgage License in Missouri

 

 

Step 1

     

Step 2

     

Step 3

 
 

Create an NMLS Account

     

Complete Your Missouri Pre-license Education

     

Pass the NMLS Mortgage Licensing Test

 
 

To earn your Missouri mortgage license, start by applying for a Nationwide Multistate Licensing System (NMLS) account online. After you apply, you’ll receive your NMLS ID, which will become your permanent license number.

     

The next step is to satisfy NMLS pre-licensure education (PE) course requirements. This involves completing the standard 20 hours of NMLS-approved education covering mortgage laws and procedures.

     

After completing your education, it’s time to schedule your licensing examination. Get more information regarding the National Test Component exam by reading our guide.

 
 

Step 4

     

Step 5

     

Step 6

 
 

Authorize a Background Check

     

Apply for Your Missouri Mortgage License

     

Associate Your NMLS Record with Your Employer

 
 

Once you’ve passed the NMLS mortgage licensing test, you’ll need to complete a background check and pay a few non-refundable fees. You must meet the requirement before submitting your application for a mortgage broker license in Missouri. Find out how you can request a background check here.

     

After passing the NMLS exam, you can now apply for your Missouri NMLS license. Here’s a link to help you with this step.

 

     

Before receiving your Missouri mortgage license, you’ll need to let the government know that you have employer sponsorship. Here’s how this works.

 

 

Getting Your Mortgage License in Missouri

A Missouri mortgage license is not only your path to a fulfilling career but also a way to serve the community. If you’re willing to put in the time and effort, you'll soon be able to help others achieve their dreams of having their own property.

 

We’ll make earning your Missouri mortgage license easy and convenient. We offer great course bundles that meet Missouri’s education requirements, including an NMLS test prep course to help you succeed in the national exam.

 

Missouri Mortgage License Education Requirements:

The SAFE Act of 2008 requires new state-licensed mortgage loan originators to finish 20 hours of mortgage education. This includes:

 

  • 3 hours of federal law and regulations

  • 3 hours of ethics

  • 2 hours of non-traditional mortgage lending

  • 12 hours of electives

 

Upon course completion, we’ll report your hours of education to the NMLS.

 

 

What's the Difference Between a Missouri Mortgage Broker License and a Missouri Loan Officer License?

Essentially, a mortgage broker owns the business and employs the mortgage loan officer responsible for providing homeowners with mortgage loans that fit their needs. So, if your goal is to have a career in loan origination, then an MLO Missouri license is what you need.

 

Cost of Getting Your Mortgage License in Missouri

The following are fees you’ll need to pay when getting your mortgage license:

 

- $30 for the initial NMLS processing fee

- $50 for MO license/registration fee

- $15 for a credit report

- $36.25 for an FBI criminal background check

 

Take note that this list doesn’t represent the total cost for licensing a company, branch, or MLO.

 

PE Expiration Policy in Missouri

 

Per the PE Expiration policy, an individual who fails to obtain a valid mortgage license within three years after the last licensure date or MLO registration date will need to retake the 20-hour pre-licensure education. The enactment of this policy is pending in Missouri but is likely to be enforced soon.

 

Missouri Continuing Education (CE) Requirements

 

Here’s a breakdown of the annual eight-hour education requirement when renewing your MLO license:

 

The courses should include:

 

  • 3 hours of federal law

  • 2 hours of ethics

  • 2 hours of non-traditional mortgage lending

  • 1 hour of state-specific education

 

Due to the “successive years” rule, you can’t take the same CE course consecutively for two years.

 

 

Get Started on Your Missouri Mortgage License Today

Whether you need pre-licensing education or a CE course, Mortgage Educators is your one-stop online resource. Register for your course today!

 

 

 

Additional Questions?

Mortgage Educators and Compliance is here to answer any additional questions that you may have in regards to your Missouri mortgage license. For additional questions, feel free to call us at (801) 676-2520 or email us at 20hour@MortgageEducators.com.

 

 

 

 

Missouri Mortgage Education Pre-Licensing