MyMEC

Forgot your username?

Forgot your password?

 x 

Cart empty

 

Get Your Mortgage Loan Originator License in 2021!

 

Louisiana Pre-Licensing Education

Card BackCard Front

Starting at: $349 Now Only $239!

Use Promo Code: 20PEDEAL

 

 

Obtaining a mortgage license and becoming a mortgage loan originator involves a simple process in which you will need to complete your state-specific education requirements and take and pass a National exam. Once these two steps have been completed, you're well on your way to becoming a licensed Loan Originator!

 

How to Get Your Mortgage License in Louisiana

 

 

Step 1

     

Step 2

     

Step 3

 
 

Create an NMLS Online Account

     

Complete Your Louisiana NMLS Pre-License Education

     

Schedule Your MLO License Exam

 
 

You need an online account to connect with the national licensing system, get employer sponsorship, and complete your screening steps. Click on this NMLS link to sign up.

     

Once you've created your NMLS account, it's time to complete your pre-license education. Louisiana requires 20 hours of SAFE pre-licensure education.

     

If you’ve studied well, taken notes, thought about the materials, and aced our practice exam, you’ll be able to pass the national exam. Learn how to sign up online here.

 
 

Step 4

     

Step 5

     

Step 6

 
 

Pay for Fingerprinting & Background Check

     

Complete Your LA Mortgage License Application

     

Connect Your Employer Sponsor to Your Online Account

 
 

In order to show that you are trustworthy to work in this important field. Go through the simple steps in our guide.

     

After passing your exam and completing the screening process, fill out each portion of the Louisiana mortgage license application.

 

     

Raise your license to “Active” status quickly by connecting your online NMLS account with your broker office. It’s a quick process, explained here.

 

The Benefits of a Mortgage License in Louisiana

Do you crave a career that brings you respect and stature in your community? Do you want to serve your neighbors with a skill that is in high demand? Being a mortgage loan originator will bring you that and much more. 

 

With a Louisiana MLO license, you will be able to help people find their dream homes. They’ll see you as one of the most trusted people in their lives. They’ll be forever grateful to you when you secure the funding they need. 

 

Mortgage Educators can help you get the license you need to make your own dreams come true—for a lucrative and exciting career. A pre-license education bundle and practice exam will quickly take you closer to your goals.

 

Education Requirements for a Louisiana Mortgage License

When it comes to education, expect a mix of standard classes. Think of them as the “reading, writing, and ‘rithmetic” of mortgage education. You’ll explore: 

 

  • 3 hours on mortgage ethics, such as fair lending, consumer protection, and fraud avoidance
  • 3 hours on federal laws and regulations that apply in all states
  • 2 hours on other forms of mortgages, besides the standard ones that consumers know about
  • 12 hours on elective subjects

When you complete these and show that you have retained the knowledge, your instructor will send your results to the NMLS system.

 

What's the Difference Between a Louisiana Mortgage Broker License and a Louisiana Loan Officer License?

Your individual producer license will authorize you to work as a loan officer or originator. In contrast, the office you work for uses a mortgage broker license and pays much higher fees to secure that type of license.

 

Cost of Getting Your Mortgage License in Louisiana

You’ll pay non-refundable fees to the NMLS with your mortgage license application. Make sure your email address is correct in your NMLS account so that you’ll receive timely notifications about this process. Here are the fees in Louisiana: 

 

  • $230: NMLS processing and application
  • $15: Credit report
  • $36.25: Criminal background screening

 

PE Expiration Policy in Louisiana

On a national level, your pre-license education can expire if: 

 

  1. You do not apply for your Louisiana mortgage license for 3 years after completing classes OR 
  2. You fail to renew your license for 3 years

 

However, this policy is not currently enacted in Louisiana, as of the time we wrote this. 

Louisiana Continuing Education Requirements

If you want to continue being authorized to enjoy this dynamic role, you’ll need to refresh and advance your knowledge, which means taking continuing education classes annually. You’ll use these to renew your license, along with a $200 renewal fee. 

 

Be sure to submit your renewal application before December 31 each year. It’s very smart to start taking your classes in the summer or fall, far before the deadline. The subjects will include: 

 

  • 3 hours on federal laws and regulations
  • 2 hours on mortgage ethics
  • 2 hours on other forms of mortgages
  • 1 hour on electives

 

Start Your Louisiana Loan Officer License Education Today

We’ve helped loan originators across this great nation to secure their licenses. A professional education package will take you through your classes quickly and help you pass a practice exam. Get started today so you can apply for your first license or a renewal.

 

 

Louisiana Mortgage Education Pre-Licensing