MyMEC

Forgot your username?

Forgot your password?

 x 

Cart empty

 

Get Your Mortgage Loan Originator License in 2021!

 

Kansas Pre-Licensing Education

Card BackCard Front

Starting at: $349 Now Only $239!

Use Promo Code: 20PEDEAL

 

 

How to Get Your Mortgage License in Kansas

 

 

Step 1

     

Step 2

     

Step 3

 
 

Create an NMLS Account and ID Number Online

     

Take Your Pre-License Courses

     

Schedule and Pass the NMLS National Exam

 
 

Start the process by setting up your own online NMLS account so that you can be issued an ID number. This will be the account you use for the remaining steps.

     

Learn everything you can from your 20 hours of Kansas mortgage license classes. This consists of taking a total of 20 hours of NMLS-approved education on mortgage loan origination topics.

     

Quickly sign up to take the National Test Component exam for your Kansas MLO license and schedule an exam time. 

 
 

Step 4

     

Step 5

     

Step 6

 
 

Initiate Criminal Background and Credit Checks

     

Turn in Your Kansas Mortgage License Form

     

Add Your Sponsoring Employer to Your NMLS Account

 
 

Once you pass your exam, you need to also pass a background check and a credit check.

     

Download the application, and go through one section at a time, making sure all requirements are complete before submitting your form.

 

     

Find the portion of your NMLS online account where you add your employer information. Use these steps. Your license will not be active until you complete this.

 

 

Start a Satisfying Career With a Kansas Mortgage License

Becoming an MLO in Kansas is quite a process, but it will end with you in a rare career position. You’ll be able to earn as much as you want by working hard. You’ll be more respected in your community. And you’ll see how your work directly improves lives.

 

Are you willing to get your classes done and check off all the steps above? It will take that type of discipline to be a good mortgage officer, anyway, so get started today. A package deal of classes and practice tests from Mortgage Educators can get you on the path. But only your drive and fire will get you to the end goal.

 

 

Kansas Mortgage License Education Requirements

What will you learn in your pre-license education courses? Here’s the outline for 20 hours of approved instruction:

 

  • Ethics, covering consumer protection, fair lending, and fraud (3 hours)

  • Federal mortgage laws (3 hours)

  • Other classes of mortgage (2 hours)

  • Electives (12 hours)

 

Our instructors are known for making these concepts easy to understand. You’ll take a quick test to show that you have mastered each area, and we’ll submit your hours to the NMLS for you.

 

 

What's the Difference Between a Kansas Mortgage Broker License and a Kansas Loan Officer License?

A broker is usually defined as an employer. Their mortgage broker license in Kansas has different requirements and fees, which you do not need to worry about. Make sure you’re filling out forms and completing requirements for a Kansas mortgage officer license, and you will be working under a Kansas mortgage broker (employer) soon.

 

Cost of Getting Your Mortgage License in Kansas

Here’s the final hurdle: paying your licensing fees. They include:

 

- $130 for NMLS processing

- $15 to get a credit report

- $36.25 to allow an FBI background check

 

Remember to request that your employer sponsor you, also, to fully activate your license.

 

 

PE Expiration Policy in Kansas

 

If you’re motivated to get your license quickly and start your career, the Kansas PE expiration policy shouldn’t apply to you. It states that the hours of pre-license education you have earned can expire after 3 years if you:

 

- Let your license lapse and don’t apply for a new one

- Don’t apply for your first license for 3 years after taking your classes

 

If you have found a job, you likely will want to get your license as soon as possible. But this policy may become important to you if you take a few years off for a different career.

 

Kansas Continuing Education Requirements

 

Many high-skill careers require licenses and license renewals. This ensures you are following current best practices and laws. Every year, you’ll refresh your education with 8 hours of classes on:

 

  • Federal regulations (3 hours)

  • Ethics (2 hours)

  • Other types of mortgages (2 hours)

  • An elective (1 hour)

 

Plus, you’ll submit a renewal application, which must be completed by December 1, along with a $50 fee. This is crucial because if your renewal is still pending on January 1, you will not be allowed to sell mortgages. This is not something to leave until the last minute.

 

 

Start Your Kansas Loan Officer License Education Today

Are you excited to become a licensed Kansas mortgage officer? We can help you reach your goals quickly at Mortgage Educators. Buy a Kansas education bundle to be sure you will be ready for your first license test or license renewal. Make your decision now to start a successful, respectable career.

 

 

 

Additional Questions?

Mortgage Educators and Compliance is here to answer any additional questions that you may have in regards to your Kansas mortgage license. For additional questions, feel free to call us at (801) 676-2520 or email us at 20hour@MortgageEducators.com.

 

 

 

 

Kansas Mortgage Education Pre-Licensing