MyMEC

Forgot your username?

Forgot your password?

 x 

Cart empty

north carolina mortgage license

How to Get Your (MLO) Mortgage License in North Carolina

With Mortgage Educators, you can secure your North Carolina mortgage license on your terms! Whether you are brand new to the mortgage loan origination career, or already have a license in another state, we have a certified NMLS North Carolina mortgage education course bundle tailored for your needs. The 24-hour pre-license bundle is intended for new mortgage loan originators, while the 4-hour state law course is directed towards existing loan officers. With our online mortgage education course bundles, you can satisfy the NMLS mortgage education requirements on your schedule. To get started, order the appropriate course bundle shown below or call us at (801) 676-2520 for more information today! Below is the step by step process on how to get your mortgage license in North Carolina:

1. Get your ID and NMLS Account Set Up
When it’s time to get your North Carolina mortgage license, start by heading to the NMLS website. From there you can apply for an NMLS account. Just press the Log In to NMLS option, click the link to Request an Account, and wait to get a confirmation. You’ll Also get your username and ID number for logging in later on.

2. Take the NMLS Pre-License Course
The next step in getting your North Carolina mortgage loan originator license is to take the pre-license education course. You’ll need to take 20 hours of a OIL (online instructor led course), then wrap it up with a 4-hour OSS (online self-study) course on North Carolina state law. This will add up to a total of 24 hours of SAFE pre-license education.

3. Get a Passing Score on the NMLS North Carolina Mortgage Licensing Exam
Now that you’ve taken the pre-licensure courses, it’s time to take the National Test Component exam. You’ll need to answer 125 questions in total, all of which need to be completed in 190 minutes or less. Learn more about registering to take the NMLS exam here.

4. Apply for Your North Carolina Mortgage License
With a passing score on the NMLS mortgage exam, you can now apply for your mortgage originator license. Here’s how:

  • Head to your NMLS account and log in.
  • Press the filing tab at the top of the screen.
  • Choose the Individual button.
  • Press Request/New Update. Click continue.
  • Click to Add.
  • Find your North Carolina license option and click Next.
  • Press North Carolina Mortgage Loan Originator License. Click Next.
  • Make sure your information is right, then press Next.
  • Look over the last page and click Finish.

 

5. Get a background check and pay required fees
Now it’s time to pay your required, non-refundable fees, such as processing fees, a credit report fee, background check fee, and application fee. NMLS will send you an invoice for these fees once you’re approved. after your application is approved. Get more details about the background check and fingerprints here.

 

6. Associate your NMLS account with your employer
The last step in getting your North Carolina mortgage license is to associate your NMLS account with your employer once you have a job. (This shows the government that an employer is supervising your license.) You can submit your sponsorship on your NMLS account. Learn more about the process here.

 

 

24-Hour North Carolina Loan Officer License For New Loan Officers

This bundle is on sale now!

Now For Only $399 $279 

Use Coupon Discount Code: NCPE279 

NC 20 4 BUNDLE

 

4-Hour State-Specific Law Course For Previously Licensed Loan Officers

Already licensed in another state? Get licensed in North Carolina with this 4-hour course today!

Now For Only $119 $79.98 

Use Coupon Discount Code: NCPE69 

NC 4 HR

 

 nmls license north carolina

 

Why Should I Get My North Carolina Loan Officer License?

Securing your loan officer in the state of North Carolina often serves as the beginning of a challenging, fruitful, and flexible career. While a career in mortgage loan origination can be very fulfilling, it takes determination. The ideal loan officer is driven to succeed, self-managed thrives on learning, and sees the value in networking. In return, many loan officers enjoy a flexible career founded in helping others achieve life-long dreams. If this sounds like the career for you, you’ve come to the right place! Order your mortgage education course bundle today.

 

North Carolina Mortgage License Requirements

In order to be licensed as a mortgage loan originator, there are a predetermined number of mortgage education hours that must be completed and reported to the NMLS. The required number of hours vary per state, however, 20 hours of national education requirements serve as a foundation. In North Carolina, 20 hours of mortgage education are required to fulfill national requirements, in addition to 4 hours of state law education. By completing all 24 hours of educational requirements, and passing the NMLS national exam, you will receive your North Carolina mortgage license.

Mortgage Educators provides three different resources to complete mortgage education requirements - online instructor-led courses, live webinars, and live classroom sessions. New mortgage loan originators generally opt for the online instructor-led courses, like those shown above. These online mortgage education courses consist of pre-recorded video lessons, supported by slideshow presentations, and comprehensive self-tests to help you prepare for the national exam. Upon completing the online course, Mortgage Educators will complete all progress to the NMLS, and deliver your new loan origination license once the requirements are complete.

New state-licensed Mortgage Loan Originators are required to complete a 20 hour SAFE pre-licensure education course that includes:

  • 3 hours of Federal law and regulations
  • 3 hours of ethics, fraud, consumer protection, and fair lending issues
  • 2 hours of non-traditional mortgage lending
  • 12 hours of undefined instruction (electives)
  • 4 hours of North Carolina state law education

New Mortgage License Education does not count towards annual CE credits. MLO's are also advised to not retake any 20 hour new license education course unless otherwise directed by a state regulator.

 

North Carolina Continuing Education Requirements

Mortgage Loan Originators are required to complete 8 hours of Continuing Education which include:

 

  • 3 hours of Federal Law
  • 2 hours of ethics
  • 2 hours of non-traditional mortgage lending
  • 1 hour of undefined elective

 

Remember to take into account the "successive years" rule, which prohibits loan officers from taking the same CE course two years in a row. Mortgage Educators changes its continuing education course annually to ensure no issues with the "successive years" rule.

 

PE Expiration Policy in North Carolina

PE Expiration is a policy that was created by the NMLS Policy Committee that addresses situations in which an individual is required to retake 20 hours of pre-licensure education if they fail to acquire a valid mortgage license within three years from the last date of licensure as a mortgage loan originator. PE Expiration policy is enacted in North Carolina which means the policy is now enforced.

 

Cost of Getting your Mortgage License in North Carolina

When you’re ready to get your NMLS license in North Carolina, be prepared to pay the following fees:

 

  • Total License Cost: $125
  • Processing Fee: $30
  • Credit Report: $15
  • Background Check: $36.25

 

Do I Need A North Carolina Mortgage Broker License or Loan Officer License?

The terms “mortgage broker”, “mortgage loan originator” and “loan officer” are commonly mistaken. While similar, they serve different purposes and have different licensing requirements. Many individuals who are searching for a North Carolina mortgage broker license are actually pursuing a career as a mortgage loan originator, or loan officer. So, what is the difference? Simply put, mortgage loan originators are employed by a mortgage broker. Loan officers are responsible for providing new home buyers with a mortgage loan. The courses shown above are intended to provide loan officers with a mortgage loan originator license in the state of North Carolina. 

 

Additional Questions?

We look forward to helping you every step along the way of your mortgage education. For more information email us at 20hour@MortgageEducators.coOr call (801) 676-2520
 

                 northcarolina