MyMEC

Forgot your username?

Forgot your password?

 x 

Cart empty

Become a New Hampshire MLO!

 

Get Your Mortgage Loan Originator License in 2023!

 

New Hampshire Bundle

Card BackCard Front

Starting at: $399 Now Only $259!

Use Promo Code: NHPE259

 

Licensed in another state and want to add New Hampshire?

Card BackCard Front

Now Only $49.98!

Use Promo Code: NHPE49

 

Obtaining a mortgage license and becoming a New Hampshire loan officer is very simple, but it’s not for everyone. It takes a willingness to learn the basic ins and outs of the industry as well as a desire to work hard. The mortgage industry is a great one to get into and it provides a lot of flexibility. If you like to work hard, you are a people person, and you have a desire to learn, becoming a mortgage loan officer is the perfect choice for you.

 

How to Get an NMLS Mortgage License in New Hampshire

Ready to be a mortgage loan originator (MLO)? Most people who buy houses need mortgages, so this job is certainly in demand. The process is not too difficult, but you do need to meet state requirements and make sure you have a solid understanding of the ins and outs of the mortgage industry. Read on to learn more about the process of getting your mortgage license in New Hampshire.

 

 

Step 1

     

Step 2

     

Step 3

 
 

Apply for Your NMLS Account and ID Number

     

Complete Your NMLS Pre-License Education

     

Pass the NMLS Mortgage Licensing Exam

 
 

The NMLS Resource Center is your one-stop-shop for MLO licensing. Start by creating an account and getting your ID number.

     

To be licensed as an MLO in New Hampshire, you are required to complete 22 hours of NMLS-approved education. This is broken down into 20 hours of instruction, with an additional two hours spent on a law course specific to New Hampshire.

     

One of the most important mortgage license requirements in New Hampshire is to pass the NMLS mortgage licensing exam. Once you finish your education requirements, you qualify to take the exam. this page offers a lot of information about taking your test. Once you’re ready, you can schedule your MLO exam.

 
 

Step 4

     

Step 5

     

Step 6

 
 

Complete Background Checks

     

Apply for Your New Hampshire Mortgage License

     

Associate Your NMLS Account with Your Employer

 
 

Once you receive a passing score on the NMLS mortgage exam (75% or higher), you can then apply for your NMLS license. This involves a background check and getting your fingerprints done. This page explains the process in more detail.

     

Once you have completed the background check and submitted fingerprints, you can submit your application to receive a mortgage license in New Hampshire. You’ll need to complete various forms and pay the required fees. Use this handy checklist to make sure you have completed all the mortgage license requirements for New Hampshire.

 

     

To be an MLO in New Hampshire, you need to have an employer sponsorship. Before your mortgage license can be approved, the government needs to know that an employer is supervising your license. You’ll need to grant access to the company so they can verify your status. This can be done online through the NMLS Resource Center. These instructions outline the process.

 

 

Why You Should Get Your Mortgage License in New Hampshire

Being an MLO in New Hampshire can be an exciting career. You’ll get to help families realize their dream of homeownership. It’s a rewarding job that comes with a lot of perks, such as flexibility and an improved work-life balance.

Being an MLO opens the door to a lot of opportunities. You get excellent job security, and it’s a valuable license to have if you’re already a real estate professional. The salary is great as well and can exceed six figures.

 

New Hampshire Frequently Asked Questions

In an effort to curb the predatory lending practices that led to the demise of the housing and residential mortgage industry in 2008, the Secure and Fair Enforcement for Mortgage Licensing Act (SAFE) was enacted. This opened up a world of opportunity to those driven to attain an MLO license and then work hard to match people with loan products.

 

2 elective hours must cover New Hampshire specific regulations and laws. Mortgage Educators includes all of this bundled together, making it easy to keep track of your educational progress.

Topic Hours Required
Fair Lending, Ethics, Fraud, and Consumer Protection 3 Hours
Federal Laws and Regulations 3 Hours
Non-Standard Lending 2 Hours
Undefined Electives 10 Hours
New Hampshire Electives 2 Hours
Total 20 Hours

Although it hasn't been enacted, be on the look out for the PE expiration policy coming soon. It states - If you complete the required 20 hours of education but do not obtain your license for a 3-year period, you'll need to repeat the coursework. The same applies if you let your license lapse for 3+ years before you want to get back into the industry.

A “mortgage broker” refers to an individual or an organization that connects consumers with mortgage loans from a variety of companies. Mortgage brokers frequently employ loan officers. In contrast, a loan officer is an employee who regularly works with borrowers and provides loans that are originated by their employer. Brokers and loan officers need different types of licenses.

Earning your mortgage broker license in New Hampshire should be considered an investment well worth your time. Here’s what to expect when it comes to licensing fees in New Hampshire:

NMLS Fees
NMLS Initial Processing Fee $30
Annual Processing Fee $30
Credit Report $15
FBI Criminal Background Check $36.25
Total License Cost $111.25

On an annual basis, New Hampshire MLO license holders must complete 8 total hours of Comprehensive Continuing Education that must cover:

Topic Required Hours
Federal Regulations and Law 3 Hours
Ethics, including consumer protection, fair lending 2 Hours
Non-Traditional mortgage lending 2 Hours
Mortgage Origination Instruction 1 Hour

Remember to take into account the “successive years” rule, which prohibits loan officers from taking the same CE course two years in a row. Mortgage Educators changes its continuing education course annually to ensure there are no issues with the successive years rule.
The deadline to complete CE in New Hampshire is December 31st. MLO's in New Hampshire are actually prevented from applying for license renewal until they have completed their CE.

Mortgage Educators and Compliance is here to answer any additional questions you may have regarding your New Hampshire mortgage license. For additional questions, feel free to call us at 801-676-2520 or email us at 20hour@mortgageeducators.com.

 

Become an MLO in New Hampshire

Mortgage Educators and Compliance can help you understand the mortgage license requirements in New Hampshire so you can get started on the path toward a rewarding career. Contact us today to learn more about our offerings or purchase a course bundle.

 

New Hampshire Mortgage Education Pre-Licensing  New Hampshire NMLS Approved Course Provider