Forgot your username?

Forgot your password?


Cart empty


michigan mortgage license

How to Get Your (MLO) Mortgage License in Michigan

With a mortgage license in the state of Michigan, you’ll be on track for a fulfilling and refreshing career as a mortgage loan originator! Mortgage Educators is here to help you every step along the way of your mortgage education. We offer two custom-tailored online mortgage education course bundles for Michigan loan officers, shown below. The first is intended for loan officers who are just starting their career, and need to complete the NMLS national mortgage education requirements in addition to the NMLS Michigan state education requirements. The second is provided for mortgage loan officers who already possess a loan officer license in another state, and are now entering the Michigan market. To get started on your mortgage education, order the appropriate course bundle today, or call us at 877-403-1428 for further information. Below is the step by step process on how to get your mortgage license in Michigan: 

1. Set Up Your NMLS Account
Start the process of getting your Michigan mortgage loan originator license by setting up your NMLS account. Head to the NMLS website and apply for an account by clicking Log in to NMLS. Then press Request an Account. Finally, pick the individual account and wait for the confirmation page, which will deliver your username and ID.

2. Take NMLS Pre-License Education Courses
Now you need to do your pre-licensure coursework through NMLS, 20 hours total. You’ll need to do 18 hours of SAFE education and 2 hours of required Michigan state law coursework. This will help prepare you to take the mortgage licensing exam.

3. Pass the NMLS Michigan Mortgage Licensing Exam
You’ll need to schedule an appointment in order to take the National Test Component exam. Be prepared to answer 125 questions in 190 minutes or less. You must achieve a passing score to get your Michigan loan officer license. Learn more about taking the exam here.

4. Apply for your Mortgage Loan Originator License in Michigan
Next, it’s time to apply for your license. Complete the process by following these steps:

  • Go to your NMLS account and log in.
  • Navigate to the top of the page and click Filing.
  • Select Individual.
  • Press Request/New Update and click continue.
  • Select the Add button.
  • Find your Michigan license and press Next.
  • Select Michigan Mortgage Loan Originator License and press Next.
  • Make sure everything is accurate and press Next.
  • Review the information and click Finish.


5. Get a background check and pay the required fees.
Once you’ve applied for your license, you’ll be required to pay a few fees relating to processing fees, a credit report, a background check, and an application fee. When your application is approved, you can review the invoice for all fees in your NMLS account. Learn more about the fingerprinting and background checks here.


6. Connect your NMLS account with your employer.
The last step in becoming a Michigan mortgage loan officer is connecting your NMLS account and license to your employer, which lets the state know you are under supervision. Get all the details for associating your NMLS account with your employer here.


20-Hour Mortgage Education Course For New Loan Officers

This bundle is now available at a discounted rate!

Now For Only $399 $259

Use Coupon Discount Code: MIPEDEAL


2-Hour Mortgage Education Course For Existing Loan Officers

Already licensed in another state? Secure your certified NMLS Michigan license today!

Now For Only

Now For Only $39.98

Use Coupon Discount Code: MIPE39



nmls license michigan

Why Should I Obtain My Michigan Mortgage License?

Many of our clients consider obtaining their mortgage loan originator license to be a turning point in their career. A career as a loan officer can be highly fulfilling, ever-changing, and socially engaging. While this may sound great, a career as a loan officer is not for everyone. To succeed in loan origination, it takes a strong sense of determination, creativity, and networking ability. If you’re able to work hard and continue to learn, you’ll be on the track to a rewarding new career as a Michigan loan officer! To get started, order the appropriate mortgage education course bundle shown above.

Michigan Mortgage Loan Officer License Requirements

The state of Michigan requires that new mortgage loan originators complete 20 hours of NMLS certified mortgage education - 18 hours of national education, and 2 hours of state-specific law education. For loan officers who have already completed the nationally required NMLS mortgage education, only the 2-hour state law course is required. 

Michigan mortgage education can be completed three different ways: in an online instructor-led course, via a live webinar, or in a live classroom setting. Each offers different advantages, and are provided to best accommodate your schedule. Generally, new loan officers elect to complete the Michigan mortgage license requirements with an online instructor-led course like those shown above. The online courses consist of pre-recorded video lectures supported by powerpoint presentations, and comprehensive quizzes to ensure you’ve understood the material. Upon completing the online course, you will be ready to take the NMLS national exam. Mortgage Educators will report all hours of completed mortgage education to the NMLS. 

New state-licensed Mortgage Loan Originators are required to complete 20 hours of SAFE pre-license education that includes:

  • 3 hours of Federal law and regulations
  • 3 hours of ethics, fraud, consumer protection, and fair lending issues
  • 2 hours of non-traditional mortgage lending
  • 10 hours of undefined instruction (electives)
  • 2 hours of Michigan state-specific instruction 


New Mortgage License Education does not count towards annual CE credits. MLOs are also advised to not retake any 20 hour new license education course unless otherwise directed by a state regulator.


Michigan Mortgage Loan Officer License Continuing Education Requirements

Every Michigan state-licensed Mortgage Loan Originator is required to complete:


  • 8 hour Continuing Education course


Remember to take into account the "successive years" rule, which prohibits loan officers from taking the same CE course two years in a row. Mortgage Educators changes its continuing education course annually to ensure no issues with the "successive years" rule.


PE Expiration Policy in Michigan

PE Expiration is a policy that was created by the NMLS Policy Committee that addresses situations in which an individual is required to retake 20 hours of pre-licensure education if they fail to acquire a valid mortgage license within three years from the last date of licensure as a mortgage loan originator. PE Expiration policy is enacted in Michigan which means the policy is now enforced.


Cost of Getting your License in Michigan

When you’re ready to get your NMLS license in Michigan, be prepared to pay the following fees:


  • Total License Cost: $250
  • Processing Fee: $30
  • Credit Report: $15
  • Background Check: $36.25


Do I Need A Michigan Mortgage Broker License or Loan Officer License?

Michigan mortgage broker licenses are commonly confused with the more common Michigan loan officer license. While the terms mortgage broker, loan officer, and mortgage loan originator are similar, they aren’t synonymous. So what’s the difference?


In short, loan officers are employed by a mortgage broker. Mortgage loan originators, or loan officers, are responsible for generating new home buyers a mortgage loan. Therefore, many people who are under the impression that they need a Michigan mortgage broker license actually require a mortgage loan originator license for the career they are pursuing. For help determining which license is right for you, consult your employer or contact us.


Additional Questions?

We look forward to helping you with any other questions or concerns you may have. Feel free to call us at (801) 676-2520 or email us at


michigan michigan mortgage broker license mortgage broker license michigan