MyMEC

Forgot your username?

Forgot your password?

 x 

Cart empty

License Requirements Page

 

California Mortgage Loan Officer License Requirements

As a result of the Secure and Fair Enforcement for Mortgage Licensing Act (SAFE Act) of 2008, mortgage loan originators are required to complete a set list of requirements of both education and application in order to obtain a license to operate in their state. Below is a list of the requirements set forth by the SAFE Act and the state of California for new loan officers applying for mortgage licenses:
  

California-BRE New Mortgage License Education Requirements

New state-licensed Mortgage Loan Originators are required to complete a 20 hour SAFE pre-licensure education course that includes:

 

  • 3 hours of Federal law and regulations
  • 3 hours of ethics, fraud, consumer protection, and fair lending issues
  • 2 hours of non-traditional mortgage lending
  • 10 hours of undefined instruction (electives)
  • 2 hours of undefined state law education


New Mortgage License Education does not count towards annual CE credits. MLO's are also advised to not retake any 20 hour new license education course unless otherwise directed by a state regulator.

 

GETTING LICENSED UNDER THE CA-BRE? 

button 17

This bundle is now available at discounted rate of $349 $239.97

Use Coupon Discount Code: CALPE  

California-DBO New Mortgage License Education Requirements

New state-licensed Mortgage Loan Originators are required to complete a 20 hour SAFE pre-licensure education course that includes:

 

  • 3 hours of Federal law and regulations
  • 3 hours of ethics, fraud, consumer protection, and fair lending issues
  • 2 hours of non-traditional mortgage lending
  • 10 hours of undefined instruction (electives)
  • 2 hours of CA-DBO state law education

 

 

GETTING LICENSED UNDER THE CA-DBO? 

20 2 DBO BUNDLE

This bundle is now available at discounted rate of $433  New Price $239.95

Use Coupon Discount Code: CADBO 

2 HR DBO

Already licensed elsewhere? Get the 2-hr course separately for only $39!

For questions about ordering or other information, call (801) 676-2520

 

 

California Continuing Education Requirements

Mortgage Loan Originators are required to complete 8 hours of Continuing Education which include:

 

  • 3 hours of Federal Law
  • 2 hours of ethics
  • 2 hours of non-traditional mortgage lending
  • 1 hour of CA-DBO state law education

 

Remember to take into account the "successive years" rule, which prohibits loan officers from taking the same CE course two years in a row. Mortgage Educators changes its continuing education course annually to ensure no issues with the "successive years" rule.

 

8 Hr NMLS CE

(1 Hr CA-DBO Available in Drop-Down Menu) 

 

 

Additional questions? 

Mortgage Educators & Compliance is here to answer any additional questions that you may have in regards to your California mortgage license. For additional questions, feel free to call us at (801) 676-2520 or email us at 20hour@MortgageEducators.com.