Mortgage Industry Basis w/Randall Birk - Tuesday, August 16th @ 10 AM MT  - Register Here

California - Pre-Licensure: Online Self-Study - 2 Hour California DFPI NMLS Pre-License Course #11066

Forgot your username?

Forgot your password?


Cart empty

Online Self-Study - 2 Hour California DFPI NMLS Pre-License Course #11066

NMLS 2 Hour SAFE California Online Self-Study course. Required course to obtain a California license.
Course #11066
NMLS Provider #1400062
Tax amount

Course Information:

This 2 hour California-DFPI pre-license education course is required by the NMLS for obtaining a mortgage origination license in the state of California under the Department of Financial Protection and Innovation.

This course will be available to you for three months from the date of purchase. You can login to your account at any time (24/7) to complete this course within those three months.

If you have not yet completed the 20 hours of pre-license education, this course is also available in the following bundle: 

This course is presented in an online instructor-led video course with supplementary literature and content. The course is made up of 2 chapters broken into 5 minute sections that require clicking to advance to the next slide and includes a handful of small quizzes. After completing the introduction to the course, each section will start with an average duration of 5 minutes per section. Each 5 minute section will be followed by an activity. These activities can be either short quizzes or case studies focusing on certain concepts.

At the end of each chapter, there is a chapter quiz and then a final exam at the end of the course. Students must complete all presentations and activity sections, all quizzes and tests, and the final exam in order to receive credit for the course. After completing the course, students will receive a certificate of completion.

2 Hour CA-DFPI Online Instructor Led PE Course Outline

Chapter 1: Obtaining and Maintaining a License in CA

In this chapter, we are going to talk about the ins and outs of obtaining and maintaining an MLO license in the state of CA. We are going to focus on the CA specific requirements for licensure. We will describe how the regulatory authority works in CA, how to obtain a license and maintain a license in CA.

Chapter 2: Keeping Compliant with CA Law

In this chapter, we are going to talk about continuing compliance with CA law. We are going to discuss things like prohibited acts and practices, fraud, financial privacy requirements under CA law, acceptable and unacceptable fees & charges, as well as requirements for automated valuation models.

Final Exam & Course Completion

This final exam will assess your understanding of the course. After passing the final exam you will have to complete the "Get Credit SCORM". An optional end-of-course survey may be filled out as well to provide feedback to Mortgage Educators & Compliance.

Course Credit Submission

The NMLS requires that education providers report education credit hours within 7 calendar days. Mortgage Educators & Compliance generally reports education credits within 3-5 business days. If you do not see your education credits reflected within the 7 days, please contact MEC Support.


Number of hours is 3/3/2/10 + 2 hr of CA-DFPI law = 20

CLICK HERE to review the PE or CE requirements for California.

REFUND POLICY: If you have not yet started the course, you may receive a full refund within 24 hours of purchase, or a partial refund of 75% within 30 days of purchase. We cannot issue a refund if the course has been started or accessed within the MEC system.