ATTENTION ALL MEC STUDENTS - Course access will continue during this time despite COVID-19. MEC customer support will continue operations as normal.

Click here for MEC's update on COVID-19

Oregon NMLS License Requirements | Mortgage Educators & Compliance

Forgot your username?

Forgot your password?


Cart empty

License Requirements Page


Oregon Mortgage Loan Officer License Requirements

As a result of the Secure and Fair Enforcement for Mortgage Licensing Act (SAFE Act) of 2008, mortgage loan originators are required to complete a set list of requirements of both education and application in order to obtain a license to operate in their state. Below is a list of the requirements set forth by the SAFE Act and the state of Oregon for new loan officers applying for mortgage licenses:

Oregon New Mortgage License Education Requirements

New Oregon state-licensed Mortgage Loan Originators are required to complete a 22 hour SAFE pre-licensure education course that includes:


  • 3 hours of Federal law and regulations
  • 3 hours of ethics, fraud, consumer protection, and fair lending issues
  • 2 hours of non-traditional mortgage lending
  • 10 hours of undefined instruction (electives)
  • 4 hours of Oregon state law education

New Mortgage License Education does not count towards annual CE credits. MLO's are also advised to not retake any 20 hour new license education course unless otherwise directed by a state regulator.


204 OR BundleThis bundle is now available at discounted rate of $399 $299

Use Coupon Discount Code: ORPE299

4 OR CoursePurchase the 4 Hr OR course by itself! Only $67 
Use the Coupon Discount Code: ORPEDEAL 

For questions about ordering or other information, call (801) 676-2520



Oregon Continuing Education Requirements

Mortgage Loan Originators are required to complete 10 hours of Continuing Education which include:


  • 3 hours of Federal Law
  • 2 hours of ethics
  • 2 hours of non-traditional mortgage lending
  • 1 hour of undefined elective
  • 2 hour of Oregon state specific education


Remember to take into account the "successive years" rule, which prohibits loan officers from taking the same CE course two years in a row. Mortgage Educators changes its continuing education course annually to ensure no issues with the "successive years" rule.





Additional questions? 

Mortgage Educators & Compliance is here to answer any additional questions that you may have in regards to your Oregon mortgage license. For additional questions, feel free to call us at (801) 676-2520 or email us at